About Kernel Documentation Linux Kernel Contact Linux Resources Linux Blog

Documentation / input / bcm5974.txt




Custom Search

Based on kernel version 3.16. Page generated on 2014-08-06 21:40 EST.

1	BCM5974 Driver (bcm5974)
2	------------------------
3		Copyright (C) 2008-2009	Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
4	
5	The USB initialization and package decoding was made by Scott Shawcroft as
6	part of the touchd user-space driver project:
7		Copyright (C) 2008	Scott Shawcroft (scott.shawcroft@gmail.com)
8	
9	The BCM5974 driver is based on the appletouch driver:
10		Copyright (C) 2001-2004	Greg Kroah-Hartman (greg@kroah.com)
11		Copyright (C) 2005	Johannes Berg (johannes@sipsolutions.net)
12		Copyright (C) 2005	Stelian Pop (stelian@popies.net)
13		Copyright (C) 2005	Frank Arnold (frank@scirocco-5v-turbo.de)
14		Copyright (C) 2005	Peter Osterlund (petero2@telia.com)
15		Copyright (C) 2005	Michael Hanselmann (linux-kernel@hansmi.ch)
16		Copyright (C) 2006	Nicolas Boichat (nicolas@boichat.ch)
17	
18	This driver adds support for the multi-touch trackpad on the new Apple
19	Macbook Air and Macbook Pro laptops. It replaces the appletouch driver on
20	those computers, and integrates well with the synaptics driver of the Xorg
21	system.
22	
23	Known to work on Macbook Air, Macbook Pro Penryn and the new unibody
24	Macbook 5 and Macbook Pro 5.
25	
26	Usage
27	-----
28	
29	The driver loads automatically for the supported usb device ids, and
30	becomes available both as an event device (/dev/input/event*) and as a
31	mouse via the mousedev driver (/dev/input/mice).
32	
33	USB Race
34	--------
35	
36	The Apple multi-touch trackpads report both mouse and keyboard events via
37	different interfaces of the same usb device. This creates a race condition
38	with the HID driver, which, if not told otherwise, will find the standard
39	HID mouse and keyboard, and claim the whole device. To remedy, the usb
40	product id must be listed in the mouse_ignore list of the hid driver.
41	
42	Debug output
43	------------
44	
45	To ease the development for new hardware version, verbose packet output can
46	be switched on with the debug kernel module parameter. The range [1-9]
47	yields different levels of verbosity. Example (as root):
48	
49	echo -n 9 > /sys/module/bcm5974/parameters/debug
50	
51	tail -f /var/log/debug
52	
53	echo -n 0 > /sys/module/bcm5974/parameters/debug
54	
55	Trivia
56	------
57	
58	The driver was developed at the ubuntu forums in June 2008 [1], and now has
59	a more permanent home at bitmath.org [2].
60	
61	Links
62	-----
63	
64	[1] http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=840040
65	[2] http://bitmath.org/code/
Hide Line Numbers
About Kernel Documentation Linux Kernel Contact Linux Resources Linux Blog

Information is copyright its respective author. All material is available from the Linux Kernel Source distributed under a GPL License. This page is provided as a free service by mjmwired.net.